An Artistic Life

29 09 2015

I’m inspired by reading Twyla Tharps blog to write in mine!

For ages I had been trying to get my work In Flagrante off shore then I realised that I had a super fulfilling artistic life here in NZ and that was more important.

I’m loving teaching my ballet classes (beginners adult ballet and intermediate level) to mainly women who are all fantastic interesting and keen.

Beginners ballet class at Tapac

Beginners ballet class at Tapac

I’m loving re creating 15 mins of my Giselle Act 2 for Tempo Dance Festival. We are part of a shared programme…small/no budget so rehearsing at Auckland Academy of Dance on Sundays. Nancy and Penny are giving us the space – brilliant. The young dancers are working well. i had thought we might do 25 mins and we were going well but the male dancers are few and far between in Auckland so cutting back made sense. I’m still really liking what I made 20 years ago…hopefully it will strike a chord and we will be motivated to try to re-create the whole hour long work next year?

Cast of 20 years ago featuring Kilda Northcott

Cast of 20 years ago featuring Kilda Northcott

And we are presenting In Flagrante again at Q’s Vault. The May season was fantastic so now a November season is planned. We are already selling tickets which is a good sign!For Web ends with a bang image

And an important post script is that I am now a grandmother…my darling daughter Morgan Le Fay Naomi Jane gave birth to Luna Le Fay Nellie Reilly 5 weeks ago. All well!


Actions

Information

Leave a comment